What happens if the Default Approver approves a request? (NetSuite)

What happens if the Default Approver approves a request? (NetSuite)

The Default Approver is a person specified in the approval step to cover cases where no Approver has been assigned based on the rules in the approval matrix.

Consequently, the Default Approver's approval does authorise the step. However, the request will only be synced to NetSuite once all steps in the ApprovalMax workflow have been fully authorised (i.e., all approvals in all steps have been obtained). As long as a request is still pending the approval of one of the Approvers, it keeps the "Open" status in ApprovalMax.