How to downgrade/cancel a subscription

How to downgrade/cancel a subscription

When we talk about downgrading a subscription, we refer to modifying the subscription plan to a lower tier or decreasing the permitted number of Organisations within a specific subscription by the Account Owner.
Additionally, on the same screen, the Account Owner can cancel the subscription or the entire account.

This is how you can downgrade a subscription:

  1. Go to the Subscriptions tab in Billing & Subscriptions:


  2. In the three-dots menu to the right of that subscription, select "Request a downgrade":


  1. If you want to change your plan to a lower one, select "I want to change the plan" and click on NEXT:

    Then, find your reason in the drop-down list and, optionally, add a comment. 
    Confirm your request by clicking on SEND:
  2. If you want to reduce the number of Organisations under your subscription, select the appropriate option and click on NEXT:

    Then, select the Organisation(s) you want to remove as well as the reason for this from the drop-down list and, optionally, add a comment. 
    Confirm your request by clicking on SEND:

This is how you can cancel your subscription:

  1. Select "I want to cancel my subscription" in the Request A Downgrade pop-up and click on NEXT:


Please note: if you cancel your subscription, all Organisations under that subscription will automatically be retired and become available in read-only mode.
  1. Select the reason from the drop-down list and, optionally, add a comment.
    Confirm your request by clicking on SEND:
Please note: the cancellation of subscriptions purchased in the Xero App Store differs and needs to be done on the Xero side

This is how you can cancel your account:

  1. Select "I want to cancel my account" in the Request A Downgrade pop-up and click on NEXT:


Please note: if you cancel your account, all Organisations under the cancelled account will be deleted automatically and you will lose all access to their history.

  1. Select the reason from the drop-down list and, optionally, add a comment.
    Confirm your request by clicking on SEND:





    • Related Articles

    • How can I transfer my subscription?

      Account Owners can initiate a subscription transfer to any user (irrespective of that user holding an account or not). A subscription transfer also transfers all Organisations under that subscription. Please note: a transfer cannot be done from a ...
    • How to cancel my account

      Maybe your accounting system has been changed, or you've created an account without intending to. If this is the case, you can easily cancel your account. Here's how it's done: Click on your Avatar and open Billing & Subscriptions: Here, navigate to ...
    • How can I start a paid subscription?

      If you are using a free ApprovalMax trial and want to continue working with your ApprovalMax Organisation, you need to start a paid subscription. This is how you start a paid subscription: To start a paid subscription, please click on "MANAGE" in the ...
    • How is ApprovalMax licensed?

      ApprovalMax is licensed per Organisation for any number of users, requests, and workflows. If you want to use ApprovalMax in connection with your accounting software, please note that each ApprovalMax Organisation corresponds to one particular ...
    • How can I transfer an Organisation to another subscription?

      Organisations can be moved between subscriptions as long as the subscriptions are compatible. This means, for example, that an Organisation with stand-alone workflows can only be transferred to a subscription under a Premium plan but not to a ...