How to delete (offboard) a user in ApprovalMax (Xero)

How to delete (offboard) a user in ApprovalMax (Xero)

What is the Offboarding feature?

The Offboarding feature allows you to delete (offboard) users without leaving unnecessary traces that would block other operations in this Organisation. You can also replace offboarded users in their role as authors of requests in the workflows.


When do you need to offboard users?

When one of the ApprovalMax users leaves an Organisation, you’ll need to adjust the workflows/requests this user has participated in, and also remove all delegations this user holds. 

Who can offboard users?

Only Administrators or Account Owners can offboard in their Organisation users that have a User, Auditor, or Administrator role. The Account Owner cannot get offboarded.

How to offboard a user

  1. Select your Organisation under the main menu and go to Workflows and Settings > Users.
  2. Click on the "Three dots" button next to the respective user and click on OBOARD:

     
  3. In the pop-up window you'll see all approval workflows this person is involved in, along with the affected workflow steps and the respective user roles:

    For each workflow you have a choice: either just remove the user by clicking on REMOVE FROM WORKFLOWS, or specify another user as a replacement first and then click on REMOVE FROM WORKFLOWS.
Important note: if you see a greyed out button while removing a user, it means that it's currently not possible to offboard the only Requester/Approver in that step from the workflow. Such a user should be replaced even from deactivated workflows.

  1. In the next screen, you'll see all open requests this person is involved in as an Approver.
    You can now either select the same replacement for all open requests:



    Or pick a particular person for each document that’s pending approval:


    When finished, click on OFFBOARD in the upper right-hand corner.
Please note: you can delete a user who is a Requester from workflows, however, it is not possible to remove/replace such a user as the Requester from/in already created requests.


    • Related Articles

    • How to delete (offboard) a user in ApprovalMax (NetSuite)

      What is the Offboarding feature? The Offboarding feature allows you to delete (offboard) users without leaving unnecessary traces that would block other operations in this Organisation. You can also replace offboarded users in their role as authors ...
    • How to delete (offboard) a user in ApprovalMax (QuickBooks Online)

      What is the Offboarding feature? The Offboarding feature allows you to delete (offboard) users without leaving unnecessary traces that would block other operations in this Organisation. You can also replace offboarded users in their role as authors ...
    • How to delete (offboard) users in ApprovalMax (Stand-alone)

      The Offboarding feature allows you to delete (offboard) users without leaving unnecessary traces that could block other operations in this Organisation. You can also replace offboarded users in their role as authors of requests in the workflows. For ...
    • Can I do a trial without using my real data from Xero?

      Yes! You can find out how ApprovalMax works by connecting to a demo organisation, which can be created in Xero for that purpose. This way, you can test all ApprovalMax features without affecting your real Xero data in any way. This is how you connect ...
    • Single Sign Up (SSU): how to sign up for ApprovalMax with your Xero account

      Are you tired of tracking new logins and passwords? You can use your Xero account for signing up with ApprovalMax. This way you need only to remember your Xero credentials. Sign up for an ApprovalMax trial account under ...