How can I copy workflow settings to another Organisation? (Stand-alone)

How can I copy workflow settings to another Organisation? (Stand-alone)

ApprovalMax supports a tool that allows to copy a workflow setup between different workflow types in the same Organisation and between different Organisations under the same account. The Copy Workflow tool helps to reduce the time needed for the workflow setup and allows to roll out additional Organisations/workflows faster.
 
Which workflows can be copied?
  1. Different workflow types in the same Organisation
  1. Different workflow types in different Organisations under the same account

How to copy a workflow to another workflow

  1. In the main menu, select the Organisation of the workflow you want to copy and open Approval Workflows in the "Workflows and Settings" section:


  2. Open the original workflow:


  3. Click on the three-dot icon and select “Copy workflow”:


  4. Under the "Copy to single workflow" tab, select the target Organisation and the target workflow, and click on DONE:



    It is also possible to copy the workflow’s settings by ticking the checkbox “Copy workflow settings”.

  5. With the copying completed, a pop-up is displayed stating:
    1. Which workflow was copied
    2. Where it was copied to
    3. Additional warnings depending on various criteria


      By clicking on the hyperlink, you’ll be redirected to the target workflow.
Please note: the target Organisation should not be retired. Such Organisations will not be displayed as available options.

How to copy a workflow to multiple other workflows

  1. In the main menu, select the Organisation of the workflow you want to copy and open Approval Workflows in the Workflows and Settings section:


  2. Open the original workflow:


  3. Click on the three-dot icon and select “Copy workflow”:


  4. Under the "Copy to multiple workflows" tab, select the target Organisation and the target workflow(s), and click on DONE:



    It is also possible to copy the workflow’s settings by ticking the checkbox “Copy workflow settings”.

  5. With the copying completed, a pop-up is displayed: 


Who can copy a workflow to another workflow?

Only Administrators/Account Owners can copy workflows.

 
Restrictions/Rules

The whole workflow setup gets copied from the original workflow to the target workflow and overwrites it. These changes cannot be revoked.

The Auto-approval step does not get copied due to security reasons (because if some parameters are omitted during the copying, it could lead to all/some requests getting approved automatically).